If work you work exclusively in the iCloud or Dropbox section, your sheets and groups are synchronized to iCloud and Dropbox, respectively, and will not be deleted when re-installing the app.On My iPad/On My iPhone Users
If you store any work in the On My iPad/On My iPhone sections, these sheets and groups are stored locally only and not synchronized to iCloud. Uninstalling Ulysses will also delete all the files stored in these sections. To perform the update nevertheless, there are two options.
Option 1: The easiest way is to install the subscription app version of Ulysses as well. For that, please download it from the App Store.
You don’t need to open, use, or activate this app. Just having it installed while the other version is uninstalled will ensure your data is not erased. Once the update steps have been performed, it is safe to uninstall the subscription version.
Option 2: Alternatively, you can extract and save all your sheets and groups manually, by using the “Share” option. For this option, do the following for each group inside On My iPad/On My iPhone:
Next, export all sheets inside the Inbox:
You can either email the sheets to yourself or temporarily send them via Airdrop to your Mac and transfer them back after the update.
After you made sure your work is safe, you can proceed with the re-installation by following these steps:
Once the download is complete, Ulysses Classic 2.8.4 is installed.